Digital Crates: Summertime Mixtape 6

In 2010, DJ Jazzy Jeff and MICK (then Mick Boogie) collaborated to release the Summertime Mixtape Vol 1, which fittingly opened with the track Summertime by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince. It includes: Kool & The Gang – Summer Madness, Quincy Jones – Summer In The City, Ahmad – Back In The day, Ice Cube – It Was A Good Day, Roy Ayers – Everybody Loves The Sunshine, Bush Babees – The Love Song, Michael Jackson – I Can’t Help It, Carl Thomas – Summer Rain, Maze Featuring Frankie Beverly – Before I Let Go and En Vogue – My Lovin’.

Since then, they have released a new mixtape in the series every summer (in the northern hemisphere). Summertime 6 is now available and it is a must get if you are a fan of old school soul, R&B and hip hop. So many songs are part of my life’s soundtrack from Grace Jones, Rick James and Chubb Rock to Johnny Kemp, Rose Royce and Jade. The tracklist is below:

  1. Dayne Johnson – Summertime 6 Intro
  2. LL Cool J – Luv U Better
  3. Allen Anthony ft Freeway – Alright
  4. Grace Jones – My Jamaican Guy
  5. LL Cool J – Doin’ It
  6. Rick James – Mary Jane
  7. Meli’sa Morgan – Fool’s Paradise
  8. Jay Z ft Mary J Blige – Can’t Knock The Hustle
  9. Kenny Dope – Superkat
  10. Superkat – Ghetto Red Hot
  11. Jade – Don’t Walk Away
  12. Bob Marley – Could You Be Loved
  13. Jay Z – Who Ya Wit (MICK + Chi Duly’s Love Mix)
  14. Earth, Wind and Fire – On Your Face
  15. Puff Daddy & Mase – Been Around The World Remix
  16. Super Lover Cee & Casanova Rud – Do The James
  17. Tracey Lee – The Theme
  18. A Tribe Called Quest – Pad & Pen
  19. Jazzy Jeff & Fresh Prince – Here We Go Again
  20. Frankie Cutlass – Puerto Rico
  21. Showbiz & AG – Party Groove
  22. Eric B and Rakim – Don’t Sweat The Technique
  23. Public Enemy – Fight The Power
  24. The Apples – The Power
  25. Lyn Collins – Think (About It)
  26. Boyz II Men – Motownphilly
  27. James Brown – There Was A Time
  28. Chubb Rock – Treat Me Right
  29. Monie Love – Monie In The Middle
  30. Johnny Kemp – Just Got Paid
  31. Nocera – Summertime Summertime
  32. Rose Royce – Car Wash
  33. Pete Rock & CL Smooth – The Creator
  34. Rick James – Cold Blooded
  35. Ghost Town DJ’s – My Boo
  36. Tag Team – Whoomp There It Is
  37. Duice – Dazzey Duks
  38. 69 Boyz – Tootsee Roll
  39. Quad City DJ’s – C’mon ‘N Ride It (The Train).
  40. Coldplay – Clocks (Samba Version).
  41. Dazz Band – Let It Whip
  42. Mos Def, Q-Tip & Tash – The Body Rock
  43. Soul 4 Real – Candy Rain Remix
  44. Eve – What Y’all Want
  45. Slum Village – Climax
  46. UNI – Beautiful Day
  47. Black Moon – I Got Cha Open Remix
  48. Bob James – Storm King
  49. Gangstarr – Ex To The Next Girl
  50. D’Angelo – Cruisin’

It, with all the other mixtapes, is available for download on the Summertime site HERE.

Disclaimer / Disclosure

I accept advertising and do sponsored posts from brands or services from time to time with my primary criteria being whether there is synergy or it is an area, product, service or thought that I am naturally interested in.

I am not responsible for the actions, claims, statistics, quotes or any other representation of advertisers or sponsors so, if you have had issue with them, please take it up with them.

I endeavour to always be honest about my views and, to be honest, if I don’t anything nice to say about something, I’d rather not talk about it at all. You may not agree with my opinions and that is cool.

I also engage with a lot of different brands, activations, etc that are of interest to me that aren’t paid for. The primary purpose of this blog is to share content around my interests, whether it is marketing, campaigns, lifestyle, music, sport, poetry, tech, etc.

If you, as a brand, think there is merit in interacting with myself and my blog, or that I would be interested in your product or service, please drop us a line. This includes ads on the site.

Pin It on Pinterest